Orange Cap Players: Check Out Winners List of Orange Cap Players in IPL History

IPL Orange Cap Winners List

The IPL’s orange cap winners list lists the highest-scoring players from each IPL season. It was launched on April 25, 2008, one week after the start of the IPL’s first season. IPL players wear a temporary orange cap on the field. The number of runs scored over a season will determine how often a player wears the IPL orange cap. The orange cap winner is announced on the last day of each season. He is then presented with a special award.

Dream11 lets you choose the top players from orange as you create your IPL fantasy cricket squad.

Look at the IPL orange cap winners list for each season between 2008 and 2021.

2008 – Shaun Marsh

Shaun Marsh, an Australian cricketer, was the first orange cap winner of the IPL. Despite missing the 4 opening games for Kings XI Punjab in the IPL tournament, he collected a superb 616 runs throughout the IPL season. In Punjab’s final league match, he also scored a century against the Rajasthan Royals, which was the first IPL season. His efforts helped Punjab reach the semis.

2009 – Matthew Hayden

Former Australian opener and two–time ODI World Cup winner Matthew Hayden won the orange cap in 2009 with 572 runs across 12 innings to his name. He was a great performer throughout the tournament, even though he has since retired from international cricket. His run–scoring abilities at the top order helped Chennai reach the semis.

2010 – Sachin Tendulkar

Sachin Tendulkar, the legend of cricket, was named tournament player at the 2010 IPL. He was also the team captain for four matches and led Mumbai to the final. Chennai lost to Mumbai due to MS Dhoni’s excellent bowling and strategy. His 618 off 14 innings broke Shaun Marsh’s record, although he needed three more innings than Shaun to beat the record.

2011 – Chris Gayle

Chris Gayle was a T20 World Cup two-time champion named on the IPL orange caps list for his first season as a Royal Bangalore Challengers player. He scored 608 runs in 12 innings and was named player of the 2011 IPL tournament. He helped Bangalore to the final, where he, unfortunately, was dismissed for a duck. Chris managed 52 sixes in that season.

2012 – Chris Gayle

Chris Gayle was added to the IPL orange caps list for the second time. A knee injury meant he missed the IPL season, but he recovered and enjoyed a great season. Chris had 733 runs, 7 fifties and a hundred runs, and a remarkable 160.74 strike rate. He managed 59 sixes, which still holds the record for most sixes in an IPL season.

2013 – Michael Hussey

Michael Hussey is the third Australian player on the IPL orange caps winners list. He broke Chris Gayle’s record for last season with 733 runs across 16 innings. That included 2 playoff games against Mumbai Indians. However, Chennai won the final thanks to a strong performance by Mitchell Johnson and Lasith Malinga in their bowling.

2014 – Robin Uthappa

Robin Uthappa is the first player on the IPL Orange cap list and part of the IPL winner team for the same season. Due to the general elections in India in 2011, the IPL’s first half was played in the UAE. Robin had a difficult time during the first stage of the tournament. However, when he returned home to India for the second stage, he changed his batting strategy. He was elected to play the opening innings alongside Gautam Gambhir (the Kolkata captain). Robin set a T20 record with 40+ runs in eight consecutive games. This was an IPL record for him, with 11 of these scores.

2015 – David Warner

David Warner, the winner of the T20 World Cup 2021 for Australia, won his inaugural orange cap in 2015. He became the fourth Australian player to make it onto the IPL’s orange cap winners list. Warner was also captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad. However, his team did not make it to the playoffs.

2016 – Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli enjoyed a great IPL season in 2016, scoring 973 runs. This is still the record for most runs in an IPL season. He scored four incredible centuries, including one against the Punjab Kings in a 15-over match. Kohli was also captain and led his team to victory. His team lost to David Warner’s Hyderabad.

2017 – David Warner

Davis Warner made it again to the IPL orange cap winner list. He was a skilled 641-run hitter in 14 innings, which helped the Sunrisers reach the playoffs, where the Kolkata Knight Riders defeated them.

2018 – Kane Williamson

Kane Williamson, a New Zealander, became the first player to reach the IPL orange cap winners’ list. Sunrisers got the final thanks to 735 runs over 17 innings. They lost against Chennai Super Kings due to Shane Watson’s spectacular century.

2019 – David Warner

David is the only player from the IPL orange caps list to have won the cap three times. He scored 692 runs over 12 innings, scoring an incredible average of 69.20 runs for the Sunrisers. His century against Kolkata was also an outstanding feat. But he didn’t stay for the final match, as he could not travel to Australia’s World Cup Preparatory Camp.

2020 – KL Rahul

KL Rahul was an essential player in Punjab Kings’ 2020 IPL campaign. However, they didn’t make it to the playoffs. While his opener runs of 670 helped the team win some significant wins, they missed the playoffs. His efforts were rewarded and Rahul began to play more frequently in India’s T20 team. He was also a temporary captain for the Test series against South Africa.

2021 – Ruturaj Gaikwad

The IPL is a fantastic tournament for discovering new talent. Ruturaj Gawad, an uncapped India player, added his name to the IPL orange list last year. Chennai won their fourth IPL title with 635 runs in 16 innings. This included his debut IPL century against Rajasthan Royals. Ruturaj was also awarded the emerging player award.


This was the IPL’s orange cap list. Although it’s hard to predict who will lead the scoring charts in 2022. Rohit Singh, Ruturaj Gaikwad (KL Rahul), and Ruturaj Gaikwad show great promise. David Warner could win his fourth IPL Orange cap. Virat Kohli will likely play as the opener for Bangalore in the 2022 IPL. He could also be among the runs to return to his former form. Ruturaj, a potential orange cap player for the IPL, could be the next unknown prospect.

Share :